My brothers, parents, wife and I all went to watch the Blue Jays game yesterday. William was at home with Alana’s sister and brother-in-law, Christina and Greg. It was a pretty good game that stretched to 11 innings before a home run by Shea Hillenbrand clinched the win for the Jays. We sat 17 rows back, close to the right fielder, Alex Rios, who made some beautiful plays including a rocket throw to third base for the tag out somewhere mid-way into the game. B.J. Ryan blew his first save, but only blew the lead, not the game. Overall it was a lot of fun. It’s always nice to see the home team win, (unlike today).

Ever since Tuesday’s (local) game here in the Marsh, Will’s taken to repeating over and over, “Daddy catch the baseball.” – except that he extends the “a” and it comes out more like, “Daddy catch the baaaze-ball.” Obviously he was more interested in my fielding than in my hitting – but if I could, I might just have some selective memory at that point as well (I’m 2 for 9 so far). Next game is this Tuesday.

Anyway, as I promised, the compiled version of the first seven posts on the mathematics of evolution and natural selection is complete and can be found here. I’ll have a bit of time to start the next few tonight, but I probably won’t have any time to post until tomorrow (my day off).

Other than those things, I’m thankful that Friday and Saturday nights I was able to get some respectable sleep. I guess just not having to care much about whether I actually get sufficient sleep is enough to let me get to sleep well enough. Alana, on the other hand, didn’t get a whole lot even then. She did get a bit during the day today, so hopefully she’ll feel a little bit better for tomorrow.

