Well, it’s that time of the year again, where I have to remember a new age to tell people when they ask me. This year it’s 30. I suppose it’s considered to be one of those important years, but to me the whole 10-year increment idea is a bit subjective. Either way, this is the year at which I am supposed to be at my physical peak – meaning it all goes down hill from here (physically). I’m not that concerned. This year I feel quite a bit better than last year, and much better than two years ago. I suppose a lot of that has to do with a better diet, and as much has to do with working out three days a week. Sitting at a computer all day does not afford much exercise, so making sure I get it is important to my health. But enough about my birthday and health, let’s talk about someone else…

As I write, my sister-in-law (that is, Alana’s sister) is in labour. She’s about a week and a half overdue, so this is to be expected. Alana is searching for someone to take care of William for the day so that she can spend some time with her sister during the process, but not having a whole lot of luck. I would probably stay home to take care of him, but Mathew is away from work on his honeymoon this week and I have to cover for him. My mother has her last day of doing her school bus run, so it would be difficult for her as well. Hopefully she’ll be able to find someone who can take him on for the day. I can’t be sure, of course, whether or not she’ll have the baby today or tomorrow, given that labour can take quite a while, but if Alana is any indication, it will probably be today. If that’s the case, it will be pretty easy for me to remember his or her birthday every year. I wish Christina and Greg well throughout the process of birth, and I look forward to celebrating the birth of their new child very soon.

Just as an update, Scarlett was born some time around 9:00 or so. Christina had to go in for a bit of surgery to sew up some of the tears that occurred during the delivery. She is doing well, last I’ve heard, and walking a bit, so that is good. Scarlett was born 9 lbs 2 oz, a sizable baby a week and a half past her due date. She had some difficulty in breathing and had a low blood sugar level when she was born, but I think that otherwise she is pretty healthy and should be just fine. I’m sure I’ll get an update sometime today. Alana will visit her sister some time today, I’m guessing that Christina will need to stay for about three days, due to the blood loss and surgery. I look forward to seeing them all soon.

