Coming home from work on Monday I noticed a bit of pain in my stomach. By 6:30 I was in enough pain that I needed to lay down to try to find a good position to keep it down. The pain started in my general stomach area and grew in intensity from a bit of a bother to a very intense pain. By night time I was in so much pain that I considered going to the hospital. At about midnight I hopped in the car and drove to the hospital, but I didn’t go in. During the drive, the pain had gone down a bit (though it was still present, and still significant), so I was hopeful that it would go away on its own and went back home, not wanting to waste my entire night at the hospital. I went to bed still in considerable pain and woke up with some, but not as much pain as before.

Yesterday I decided I would try to go to work and hopefully it would go away by the time I got home. Instead, it came back with a vengeance and prompted me to leave work, and make my way home, and perhaps go to a walk-in clinic if it got any worse. By the time I got to the highway, I was in considerable pain and it was moving down towards the abdominal area, so I decided to go to the walk-in-clinic – hoping to avoid going to the hospital. It took about 15 minutes to see the doctor, who promptly wrote up a letter to the emergency department and told me to go to the hospital to see if I had appendicitis or not.

So I went to the hospital. I waited around for a while and eventually they brought a doctor in to talk to me. They did a few checks and scheduled me for a CT-scan. A few hours later, they did a CT-scan and I came back to the room and waited, and waited, and waited. About 12 hours after initially arriving at the hospital, a surgeon came in to talk to me about the results. He told me that there were some indications that would point to appendicitis, but the results were somewhat inconclusive. He said that they could remove my appendix if I wanted, but that it probably wasn’t necessary.

So he asked me how I felt. I told him that I was feeling quite a bit better at that point, so he asked my why I came then. I pointed out the obvious: twelve hours ago I was in severe pain and went to a walk-in clinic. The person there was concerned about the possibility of appendicitis and sent me to the hospital. What did he want me to do, leave as soon as I was feeling a little better? Twelve hours is quite a period of time, so I’m not all that supprised that the pain could have passed by then.

In the end, he told me that I may have had a bit of a flare-up in the appendix, but it seems to be passing. He told me that I probably didn’t need to have surgery right now, but that there’s a good possibility that it may return in a few years, and I may need to have it removed then. It doesn’t sound all that encouraging, but at least I don’t need surgery right now, so I thanked him and went home.

