Three down, three to go. I don’t think I’ve had so many weddings to go to in one year as I do this year. Two of my co-workers, two of Alana’s friends, and two of my relatives. It’s getting to be a bit expensive, but that’s just how it is, I guess.

Last weekend we went to one of Alana’s friends’ weddings in Toronto, and this weekend we went to her other friend’s wedding. After the first of the two, we decided that we wouldn’t bring William with us to the service for the second one – it just makes it easier that way. Niamh is still being nursed, so we brought her to both, and had a babysitter babysit for the reception.

The first one was a little more easy-going, since Alana wasn’t in the wedding party for that one, but yesterday was pretty busy for me – driving Niamh back and forth to be fed, buying a burger for the babysitter for dinner, doing the laundry and mowing the lawn, etc. I’m glad we have today off to rest.

I can’t say that I enjoy dancing (unless it’s slow dancing – that I can handle), but Alana insisted that I do so last night. But I wasn’t the only one who didn’t enjoy it that much; Bryan, the groom, didn’t seem too interested in dancing either, but when your wife drags you on to the floor, I guess you may as well make the best of it…

The dinner was excellent for both weddings, though, and I did enjoy myself at both. It’s nice, every once in a while, to have someone babysit the kids so that we can get a bit of time to enjoy ourselves without having to constantly keep an eye on them. For Patrick’s wedding, though, I think I’ll just go alone (at Alana’s request), since Alana would probably rather stay home that day and not have to pay for a babysitter for that one, and she really doesn’t know him that well anyway. I’d rather have her come along, of course, but I understand her reasons for wanting to stay home as well.

