Well, I haven’t had a lot of time in the past month or so. I’m working on a bit of a project which may take me to the end of the year. Hopefully I’ll be able to post a few things in between though. One last wedding to go to this year, that’s on Saturday. We still need to find a babysitter, but I’m sure we’ll manage at some point between today and then.

Last night we went to the Safe Church meeting to learn about the new policies. Alana is the head of babysitting at our church and I help her out, so we had to attend. It’s going to be a bit of work to inform all of the babysitters about the policy and have them sign off that they’ve read everything and agree to abide by the policies set forth, considering there are quite a few nursery volunteers. Alana feels a bit overwhelmed by it all, but I’m sure we’ll manage. The first step is to get the list of volunteers, and then we’ll probably put an announcement in the church bulletin about the most pertinent policies for parents and volunteers to know about and a note to have all volunteers contact us to get more information on the policies and to fill out the appropriate forms. At least this will help get some of the volunteers to contact us, rather than have us contact them. The rest we’ll have to call ourselves.

For the past eight weeks I’ve been listening to the Bible in MP3 format on my way to and from work. It’s nice to be able to go through the whole Bible in two months (it took 8 weeks exactly). Of course, it’s nicer to actually read it, rather than just listen to it. Reading allows for better cross-referencing and allows you to spend more time thinking about individual verses, but listening has its benefits as well. For one, you don’t have to get hung up on figuring out how to pronounce the names in some places, but I think it’s better, in the end, to be able to do both – reading and listening. At any rate, I look forward to doing it again in a bit. Perhaps I’ll find another source for next time, just so that I have a different voice to listen to for a bit of variety, but this one was clear enough for the most part. The MP3 files can be found at http://www.audiotreasure.com/webindex.htm for anyone interested.

