Not of something, just both at the moment… I’m looking forward to taking a week and a half vacation starting Thursday of next week. My wrists need a bit of a rest from typing all day five days out of the week, and I need to get a bit more sleep. I haven’t had a whole lot of time to work on the things I would like to in the past month, so my personal productivity has dropped a bit.

On top of that, I seem to be coming down with a cold or a flu, or whatever it is. The first symptom tends to be a feeling that I need to “pop” my ears, so it must be some sort of sinus cold, I guess. William and Niamh have the same thing, so I guess I shouldn’t have hoped too much that I would be spared from it. Just something to add to the tiredness, I suppose.

Other than that, though, things have been going pretty well. Last weekend we finished burning the wood pile that was under our pine tree (or spruce, or whatever it is, exactly), so the mice have fewer places to hide in. Of course, that may just mean that they’ll decide to make their way into the house, but that’s what we have traps for. (We must have caught 30 mice this year around the house, garage, shed, etc., but they keep coming back – I guess that’s what you get for living out in the middle of a bunch of fields.)

Niamh is starting to stand up now. She’s a bit slower than William was, but everybody goes at their own pace. She started about a few months ago by learning to bum around, then she figured out how to pull herself into a sitting position from her stomach (because she knows how to bum around, not how to crawl). Next she worked on standing with our help, and now she’s able to pull herself up into a standing position with the help of a chair. That means that soon Alana and I will have to keep track of two kids running around all over the place. We’ll see if Niamh ends up having the atomic energy that William seems to have.

Anyway, I guess I’ll do a little bit of research before I get to work in about 10 minutes. Until next time…

