Well, I have a little bit of time now, since everybody else in the house is sleeping, and I don’t seem to be capable of letting myself fall asleep for an afternoon nap. But it will give me a chance to read a little and write a post or two…

Yesterday wasn’t too busy, but Alana was working most of the day, so I took care of the kids. In the afternoon I had to go to our church building and set everything up for today’s services. Dwayne met me there and we worked out the settings for a few presentations, etc. Then at 7:00 we went to the skating rink to do a little bit of skating with the rest of the church.

William has never really skated before (and, of course, neither has Niamh), so I was busy helping William learn, and Alana was busy with Niamh. We got some nice skates for William from Freecycle, and he liked them quite a bit – though he wasn’t exactly an expert. We took a pylon and had William skate around with that, but he didn’t quite grasp the concept of pushing off with his skates against the ice, rather than just moving them back and forth. Perhaps I’m just not the best skating teacher, but eventually he was able to push the pylon to some degree, even if it wasn’t with full force. I guess it just means we’ll have to go out skating more often…

Niamh, on the other hand, wasn’t really expected to learn much. We put her in double-bladed skates, so that it would be more difficult to fall. She was content to hold mommy’s hands and coast between her legs. I took her around the rink a couple of times as well.

Alana and I had each had a chance to go around the rink a few times without the kids, and once together while they sat down for a short rest. By the time 8:00 rolled by, we were pretty tired and Niamh wanted to go home. William initially said that he wanted to go home too, but when we got to the changeroom, he changed his mind. Alana and I were exhausted from holding them up for the past hour, though, so we told him he’d have to go skating again another time (besides, it was their bed time anyway).

Today I did the audio/visual for the morning service so far, and will be doing it again tonight. It’s my first time alone in a while (I used to do it on the old system when I was in high school, but they put in a new system now which is a bit more complicated). About two weeks ago I did the visual while Dwayne did the audio for a first run on the system to get myself warmed up, but from now on I’ll be on my own.

At 3:30 we have our Bible study group, so that should be fun. It’s at Dave and Joy’s house, so it’s only about a 1 minute walk from our house (it’s the closest house to ours on our street). Hopefully the kids will be rested up enough for that so that they don’t get frustrated, but we usually have one of the kids from church babysit in the next room, so it shouldn’t be too bad. The weather is nice outside (2 or3 degrees above freezing), so the walk shouldn’t be a problem.

That’s about it for this weekend. Hopefully next week isn’t as snowy as this week was, but we’ll take what we’re given…

