I have the eSword Screen Saver installed on my computer here at work, and I’ve been looking for some single-verse summaries of the gospel message to use with it. So far I have 15 verses with varying degrees of completeness. If anyone has any suggestions for me to add to this list (or any other improvements), I’d love for you to let me know via the comments. The ones I currently have are as follows:

(Isaiah 53:11 ESV) –  Out of the anguish of his soul he shall see and be satisfied; by his knowledge shall the righteous one, my servant, make many to be accounted righteous, and he shall bear their iniquities.

(Isaiah 53:12 ESV) –  Therefore I will divide him a portion with the many, and he shall divide the spoil with the strong, because he poured out his soul to death and was numbered with the transgressors; yet he bore the sin of many, and makes intercession for the transgressors.

(John 1:17 ESV) –  For the law was given through Moses; grace and truth came through Jesus Christ.

(John 3:16 ESV) –  “For God so loved the world, that he gave his only Son, that whoever believes in him should not perish but have eternal life.

(John 6:40 ESV) –  For this is the will of my Father, that everyone who looks on the Son and believes in him should have eternal life, and I will raise him up on the last day.”

(John 18:37 ESV) –  Then Pilate said to him, “So you are a king?” Jesus answered, “You say that I am a king. For this purpose I was born and for this purpose I have come into the world–to bear witness to the truth. Everyone who is of the truth listens to my voice.”

(Acts 4:12 ESV) –  And there is salvation in no one else, for there is no other name under heaven given among men by which we must be saved.”

(Romans 5:17 ESV) –  For if, because of one man’s trespass, death reigned through that one man, much more will those who receive the abundance of grace and the free gift of righteousness reign in life through the one man Jesus Christ.

(Romans 6:23 ESV) –  For the wages of sin is death, but the free gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord.

(2 Corinthians 5:21 ESV) –  For our sake he made him to be sin who knew no sin, so that in him we might become the righteousness of God.

(Ephesians 2:8 ESV) –  For by grace you have been saved through faith. And this is not your own doing; it is the gift of God,

(1 Timothy 1:15 ESV) –  The saying is trustworthy and deserving of full acceptance, that Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners, of whom I am the foremost.

(1 Peter 1:3 ESV) –  Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ! According to his great mercy, he has caused us to be born again to a living hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead,

(1 Peter 3:18 ESV) –  For Christ also suffered once for sins, the righteous for the unrighteous, that he might bring us to God, being put to death in the flesh but made alive in the spirit,

(1 John 4:9 ESV) –  In this the love of God was made manifest among us, that God sent his only Son into the world, so that we might live through him.

