After a few weeks, I suppose it’s good to put in an updated entry.

I must admit that I probably spent too much time watching the Winter Olympics. They aren’t all that important, but they are fun to watch. Canada took in a record (for the Winter Olympics) 14 gold medals, including the Men’s and Women’s hockey gold. This was a nice change from earning no gold medals in the previous two Olympics held here. The United States also did well, earning a record (for the Winter Olympics) 37 medals total. The ski cross and snowboard cross events were pretty interesting to watch and the hockey matches (particularly in the Men’s tournament – the Women’s matches were mostly blowouts) were great to watch as well.

Near the end of the Olympics, Alana and I went 5-pin bowling with William and Niamh at an event for Alana’s work. The men’s curling final was on while we played. It was the first time bowling for both of the kids, so they had to get used to it a bit. Niamh is still pretty small, so her balls took quite a while to reach the pins. A couple of times we had to throw another ball to get it moving again. The rails were up, so there were no gutter-balls. William did a bit better, and ended up with a decent score. Alana and I didn’t have our best games – we haven’t played in quite a while – but I think Alana must have beat me in the end. The kids didn’t care what the score was, though, and they seemed to enjoy it. We ran out of time in the end, so we couldn’t finish our game (we had to finish a game of BINGO before we could move on to the full game and that took us a while), but we all had a good time anyway.

Two weekends ago, the snow was quite easy to pack, so William, Niamh and I built a snowman with the snowman kit that one of the members of our congregation gave to Niamh as a gift a little while ago. The snow packed into balls very well, but it was quite heavy. I must have forgotten how heavy snow got when we used to build snowmen and such before, or maybe it’s just that we used to work as a team to lift, but these things were heavy. The first ball was large, but it didn’t require any lifting. The second ball must have weighed around 100 lbs, so I couldn’t lift it very easily by myself. I had to go to the back, grab a log, roll the ball onto the log, and then get my legs right under to lift it onto the base snowball. I succeeded in the end, but it was a lot harder than I had thought it would be. The head was smaller, so it wasn’t quite as much of a challenge. Here are a couple of pictures:

William and Niamh Standing with the Snowman

William and Niamh Standing with the Snowman

William and Niamh Sitting with the Snowman

William and Niamh Sitting with the Snowman

Last weekend we took William and Niamh swimming to teach Niamh how to jump into the pool. After two times failing her swimming course, I figured I’d help her learn the part she was having the most difficulty with. She was apprehensive the first few times jumping in, but she ended up enjoying it and would jump 3-4 feet to me at the end. We must have spent almost an hour just having her jump in (I would have been happy to stop after the first 15 minutes or so, but she wanted to go on. William jumped in himself and played with his cousins who were also there while Niamh was jumping, but I got to play with him as well for a while too.  He was more interesting in playing catch with some rings and swimming the length of the pool with a life-jacket on. We all had a lot of fun at the pool, so we’ll have to go again sometime.

